Thread: nomad 09 or 08

mtbr member
    Sep 2008

nomad 09 or 08

Hi guys,
    I'm debating between two nomad models; the 09 model with the 160 mm rear suspension or the 08 model with the 165 mm rear suspension which we already know is good. It seams to me that the 08 model is more on the aggressive side, what do you think and what would you recommend?

mtbr member
    Sep 2008
    any help guys?
    please!!! i have a hard time choosing...

mtbr member
    May 2006
    I dont have a nomad, but if you ask me, the old nomad looks better, but the new nomad has the VPP2 technology.

I am not a mechanic, I dont like taking the links apart unless it is creaking. With that in mind, the story is that the VPP2 on the Nomad 2 will require less maintenance.

That works for me when I choose the BLT2 over the BLT. I much whether be out riding.

Others will tell you taking the links apart and greasing them is no big deal. I lived thru that when I had my Proflex back in the 90s. I dont want to live thru it again every few weeks.

5mm travel difference is not that noticeable unless you ride your bike for 8 hrs everyday of the week. Perhaps you might want to consider frame geometry more.

Creepy tooth fairy

Depends on whats important to you...