Fun Junkie

Heckler fork questions?

Yes, I'm a noob. I've been out of mountain biking for so long, I really am lost on all the new stuff.

I got my Heckler as a trade, and it came with a Manitou Nixon Elite fork with little to no use on it. Problem is, it's sprung for a 160 lb. rider, and I'm 220. As it turns out, it seems to be impossible to get any parts of any kind for Manitou products now, so I'm hosed, and forced to look for a new fork.

The Nixon has 145mm of travel, and I like the geometry, so I would like to stick with a 140 - 160mm fork.

I don't have a ton of cash, and really can't afford to drop $600+ for a new fork, but I also don't want to be stupid, and have to replace whatever I get 6 months down the road. I'm looking at lightly used forks on the classifieds here and on ebay, but I'm really lost as to what I should be looking for.

I like the looks of the Fox Float (and have used Fox suspension on my motorcycles in the past), and especially like the 36 Float with the longer travel (160m), but it looks like the 36 uses a different type of axle, so I'm guessing I'd have to change hubs and have new wheels built? Currently my Heckler has Mavix "X 317 Disc" wheels and Cerit hubs.

I also don't know how the disc brakes mount to the Fox forks as I can't find info on compatibility with the brakes I have (Hayes Nine); are all disc brakes mounted the same?

Sorry to ramble, but my LBS seems to take great pleasure in trying to make me feel like a fool for asking these type of questions, and since I don't plan to buy new anyway, I don't want to take up their time as it is.

So, any suggestions would be appreciated. While I'm learning a lot from reading through these forums, there's still a ton I obviously don't know.