mtbr member

Cheapest Heckler build kit...

I'm looking to get a Heckler this year, probably not for a few months. I know Hecklers are considered relatively cheap compared to the rest of SCs lineup and other brands, but I'm still going to be looking to save all the cash I can--I'm a student. I'd rather not buy used as I'd like to continue to support my LBS. (Been great with servicing my current bike and advice on various things- free lifetime tuneups aint bad either.)
    I'm looking at getting the Heckler with the D AM kit, fox float r and a rock shox tora 302 coil fork. Anybody have this setup? At $1600 for the complete bike, it really sounds awesome. The component spec is already much better than my current bike (an old '99 GT aggresor hardtail with mostly deore components) and I'm not a weight weenie so I really can't justify much of the stuff that comes in the higher end kits. I'm really just concerned about the suspension. I know it will be a big step up from my current bike (pretty much useless judy tt) but I'm wondering if a better fork/shock combo would be worth it. I can't find any user experiences with the tora because it's new.
    Oh quick question about the float r also--will I be taking advantage of the frame's full travel with that shock? All those rear shock travel measurements have me confused. (X.XX" x X.XX)
    So any comments?
    Any owners with a similar setup?

mtbr member
    DO IT!