mtbr member
    Oct 2011

Chameleon Build?

I orginally posted this in the Bike and Frame section with no responses so I thought I'd try it here.

I'm thinking about building up a HT this winter. I've never built a bike before, but it looks like it could be fun. I was thinking about a Santa Cruz Chameleon 4 frame. Does anyone have any experience or reviews of this frame? I'm not sure what year the Chameleon 4 was made, but I'm thinking between 2010-2012?

I'm looking to add a HT to my collection which include: 2012 Trek EX8, 2012 Trek Slash 9 and a 2005 Specialized Roubaix. I'd like the HT to able to handle some aggressive riding but mostly single track / technical rides. I'm also hoping keep it at 26 inch wheels, not sure I want a 29er just yet.

Any advise would be appreciated!

mtbr member
    Apr 2010
    Same here Hobbs305. Next project would be a AM aggressive hardtail that would handle different fork lengths... the Chamelion have great reviews when it comes to it's versatility. Have you looked at the On One evo 456? this might be a contender with ICG o5 tabs, able to take 4-5-6 inches forks (456 namesake) and half the price compared to the Lizard... unless you get the one in SCB sale... still weighing options here as well... maybe someone have already tried both and have a sensible comparison of the frames... thanks!!!

mtbr member
    Good deals on Chameleon 4 frames at the VPLS ($350):
    Santa Cruz Bicycles

That said, the new version of the frame (5) has some major changes though. I have not ridden a 4, but have owned the one with track ends since 2001. It's been a great bike, but at this point the 5 appeals to me much more than the 4.

These would be my pro/cons of the 5:
    Pro - No more ecc bottom bracket on the 5
    Pro - Longer and slacker
    Pro - Choice of dropouts
    Con - Currently $400 more expensive due to VPLS
    The 5 has ISCG05 tabs as well as a tapered headtube if that matters.

Your pros/cons list may be totally different.