mtbr member
    Jul 2015

Buying a Tallboy LTc demo: deal or no deal?

LBS offered me a Tallboy LTc R with less than a dozen rides on it for $2700, which is $1K less than MSRP. They say the bike is in perfect condition other than some heavy scratches on the bottom of the crank arms and a chip near the rear derailleur (both pictured). Apparently a branch hit the derailleur, causing it to flip up and smack the frame. The derailleur has been replaced. Bike will be covered by the original warranty.

Price seems a little steep to me at first blush (and non-negotiable), but I have no experience buying used. I'll obviously check it out in person before committing, but the shop is about an hour away from me and I don't want to make the drive if it's not a decent deal. Any thoughts?

Buying a Tallboy LTc demo: deal or no deal?-rear-triangle.jpgBuying a Tallboy LTc demo: deal or no deal?-crank.jpg

mtbr member
    Mar 2015
    If almost 30% off isn't a good deal for something with full warranty on it, I don't know what to say.

The stock crank is cheap, you could easily upgrade and replace it later at minimal cost. The rear triangle damage is only bad looking on the eyes IMO and would happen to you eventually. I say if it fits you and it's the specs you want, go for it. If you buy used you will lose the warranty and probably not save anything.

mtbr member
    Jul 2015
    Thanks for the input, Kevin. I've demoed the same bike elsewhere and am happy with the fit and specs. I don't think I would buy without a warranty, so the alternative is probably to pay more to get something new. Sounds like it may be better to jump on this and use the extra $1k to upgrade components down the road.

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    Especially if you want a TBLT since they are out of stock for the rest of 2015

mtbr member
    Jul 2015
    Quote Originally Posted by pking View Post
    Especially if you want a TBLT since they are out of stock for the rest of 2015