Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr noob

Butcher 650b build by know nothing noob.

Hi all,
    Now that I got my first 5 posts out of the way (previous lurker)
    I could use a little help and advice.
    I just picked up a SC butcher frame with rp23 shock on clearance for 675.00
    Got a black xl.

I've been reading comments and almost went for a yeti complete bike but you guys and gals have inspired me to build my own even though I've never done any mech work on bicycles before. Just dirt bikes.

I'm really big. 6'2" and 247 lbs. Strong. And I intend to ride steep and rough single track trail in Colorado primarily. Lotsa baby heads, roots, stairsteps and other nonsense. I'm too old to race so it'll just be for kicks w/ comrades.

I'm somewhat knowledgeable of different build kits-levels and don't want big bling, just tough stuff that'll take my clydesdale body hammering it.

So, I'm now looking for some recommendations on parts choices, setup, etc...
    Oh yeah, one of the reasons I decided against the yeti is that i'm bitten by the 650b wheel thingy. They may never have that or it'll be a while.

Forks: ?
    Brakes; want really good brakes ! ???
    Wheelset: gotta take a clydesdale on gnarly stuff...
    Cassette-gearing setup: prefer 11-36 but 1x9, 1x10, 2x9 or 2x10, don't need speed, need a climber
    Chainring: 22-36 ? sound smart, dumb...?
    Headset: I'm a real noob here ?
    Bars/Cockpit: duh...

Need a lot of help and encouragement here. Hope I didnt screw the pooch.

mtbr member
    Apr 2007

650!

Just my personal bias

Forks: ?
    *Fox float 36 160
    Brakes; want really good brakes ! ???
    *Shimano XT w/ 200mm rotors
    Wheelset: gotta take a clydesdale on gnarly stuff...
    *TL28 or Stans Flow rim, Hope/King/WTB/I9 hubs (look for a deal). Get em custom built for your weight with straight guage spokes. Maybe try to find 36 hole rims for additional strength. I'm running flows and really like the tubeless option.