mtbr member

Bronson Maintenance Plan

I'm coming up on 6 months of owning a 2015 Bronson. Looking to do as much maintenance on it myself. Would appreciate any tips, suggestions or links to help with the process, as I'm no expert bike mechanic. Specifically, I plan to clean out the lower linkage and disassemble the shock assembly for inspection. Curious to know if the SC bearing removal tool is necessary for the LL part?

There also seems to be a slight vibration in the crankset during peddling. Not sure I feel comfortable pulling the cranks and bb apart, but I would like to swap original cranks out for some carbon ones come spring.

i have downloaded the Tech Sheets from SC's website.
    The only trace I leave behind is tire marks.

mtbr member
    Tech Tuesday: Adjust the Pivot Bearings on Any Santa Cruz VPP Suspension - Pinkbike
    Repair Help Articles - Park Tool

Basic bearing/link adjustment takes nothing more than shown in the above video.
    For the non grease gun bearings on the upper link, you can remove the bearing seals and repack bearings with grease without removing bearings from the links.
    Lower links you can service with the grease gun that you should have received with your bike if purchased new from a dealer.

Always good to check the mounting bolts on the chainrings, brakes, rotors, rear derailluer, etc. Simple snug up is usually all that should be required if anything.

Lots of basic maintenance can be done with just hex/allen keys.
    You'll need some part specific tools depending on bottom bracket, cassette, hubs.

Universal bleed kits or manufacturer specific bleed kits are available for brakes.
    Plenty of suspension service videos online.

Depending on how often you have been riding in the past six months you could be due for some suspension service.

Would also be a good idea to check chain/cassette/chainring wear and brake pad thickness.

mtbr member
    Sep 2009