mtbr member
    May 2005

Blur 4X/Trailbike

Ride trails or race 4x?

Last edited by Gripo; 02-04-2006 at 04:44 PM.

Got A Lust for Life...
    Good question...searching for an answer myself.
    I am immune to your disdain.

Got A Lust for Life...
    Found it...

mtbr member
    May 2005

short & sweet

works as designed ie. great on a bmx track..turns like it's on rails, can confidently jump it and works as a trailbike

essentially an angle tweaked, beefed up blur anyways

don't put anymore than 130mm fork on it cause it will slow down the steering too much and effects it's hill climbing ability (100mm would be perfect or a TALAS type fork)

take a camlebak, cause there's no tabs for a drink holder.

why are you considering the blur anyways indyfab25?
    Last edited by Gripo; 03-17-2006 at 12:01 AM.

Got A Lust for Life...
    I would like to try something different. I have been riding a heckler for almost eight years now(two different gens). The trails around my area are very tight singletrack with a lot of quick, very tight turns. The 4x would be right at home on the trails I ride. I adore my heckler but I would like something that doesn't squat so much when I stand and give it hell. Not that the heckler is that bad...it isn't. The 5th coil is great for that. The heckler is going back to SC due to the main pivot being out of whack and if possible, I might go with a VPP. My main XC bike is a Kona Unit at the moment. So the XC bike is taken care of. Likely, I will stick with the heckler. I love the thing and no pivot troubles. Just weighing my options and doing some research. I have figured the ideal bike for me would be a 4x with a 69 head angle with 130mm fork. A stong, quick bike that mimics my heckler's handling without the drawbacks of the single pivot(I know, there aren't many). Don't get me wrong here. The single pivot is good. But I want to give VPP a shot. If I could persuade SC to make me one custom, I would do it in a minute. That is likely not an opt