The endless excuses guy
    May 2004

BLT Suspension Failures-Need Advise

If there was ever I time I needed to hear from SC owners, it is now. I'll try to be brief and answer questions as they arise.

I have been a BLT owner since August. I love the ride this bike provides. I'm no expert, but I'd say I've found FS utopia except that its been a high-maintenance nightmare. Not blaming the bike here, because I know and hear of many happy BLT riders.............

BUT, in the short time of owned this bike, I've had 3 significant suspension related failures.
    1st: after maybe 2 months ownership, I developed a knock. Discovered to be due to broken bearing races(the one that goes throught the lower shock eye (via DU bushing, et al). Also discoverd that there was a slight amount of redial play in the DU bushing. Replaced bearings. Ordered new DU bushing from Fox
    2. Knock reappears 1-2 months (or so) later. Same bearings have broken races. Find that the associated axle pin is out of true (bent) and has worn around bearing contact points. Replaced all suspension pivot point bearings (x8) pins, etc. I'm amazed at how gritty feeling all of the old suspension bearings feel as I inspect them. Pressed in new DU bushing. Good to go, I'm riding again.

Bike has rides flawlessly, unitl,

3. While cleaning/lubing my bike yesterday, I notice that one of the titanium suspension links that connect the lower shock eye to the seat-post pivot is broken in half!

At this point, I think I've had enough. I contacted SC warranties (Willie). As usual, the customer service to top-knotch, they will cover replaceent 100%, or even let me upgrade or downgrade (probably the wrong choice of words) to a different frame.

My questions to you folks are these: