mtbr member
    Aug 2011

Tubeless question

Hi All,

Riding along on a tubeless setup, a leak occurs during this long ride that the stans sealant can't seal. You decide it is time to put in the emergency tube. Will the residual sealant cause the tube to bunch up, fold on itself and not sit in the tire correctly?

Will this cause the tube to fail prematurely? How much harder will it be to put the tube in if the tube won't slide around inside the tire?

Thanks,
    Josh

On your left.
    Jan 2004
    Good question. You can use fix-a-flat to seal or even repair the cut in the tire and re-air. So its not like flat tubeless = insert tube. I've been running tubeless off and on for ~7 years. I've never had to install an emergency tube, but I always carry one as I'm sure I could get it to work no matter how messy. I've only had flats with tubes installed (not counting a few flats close enough to home so I just walked back - due to broken glass cutting a hole in the tire which failed to seal). Once on the way to work I got a flat due a huge nail right through a knobby and touching the rim - left the nail in, I aired it up, sealed enough to make it to work, then aired up again before riding home.
    M

mtbr member
    Apr 2010
    I too, have been running tubeless for years and would never go back. I've had to pop a tube in one time on my gravel grinder, not due to a fat, but the tire started delaminating and the sealant produced a bubble in my tread the size of a golf ball. To answer your question, the tube was un affected by any remaining sealant. I took the valve stem out of the wheel and reused it after I replaced the tire.

Remember, they make plug kits that can help you with larger punctures on tubeless. Mist bike shops have them.

mtbr member
    Aug 2011
    Thanks for the info. Tubeless sounds great but for some reason losing the tube makes me worried.

Birthday Collector