mtbr member

recommend me a vaya wheelset

i currently have dt240s on velocity blunt sl rims, marathon extreme tire. i love this combo offroad and will be trying to go tubeless with it. i'm looking for a dedicated road wheelset. a rim with a machined sidewall on a bike that doesn't have rim brakes would drive me crazy everytime i looked at it. i won't be doing any loaded touring on it, just longish road rides. yeah, yeah, yeah, "light, strong, cheap. pick any two." i don't have enve money, but, i do have some cash to spend
    "if you can't be good, be good at it."

Full Tilt Boogie
    May 2005
    White Industry Disc hubs laced to the new all black Hed C2's.
    I sell bikes here. Check out the Blog here. Facebook.

Birthday Collector
    Check out the new Stan's Notubes rims - Iron Cross.. 385g disc-only made for tubeless. Could be a good match!
    R.I.P. Corky 10/97-4/09
    Disclaimer: I sell and repair bikes for a living
    http://www.endlesscyclesonline.com

mtbr member
    Jan 2007
    I was using a set of Easton XC One wheels for my Vaya as my lightweight cross tires. Pricepoint usually has them cheap. A Stan's Crest would be good, especially for tubeless. I currently have I9's with Stan's Arches, but using a 29er tire. The beauty of the Vaya is the standard MTB disc compatibility, so any 29er wheels work. Nice job, Salsa!

mtbr member
    It's actually a full custom Waterford with s&s couplers loosely based off of the Vaya I used to ride. I see now that they are making a stainless version with couplers, copy cats!
    Hadn't really thought about Stan's for road use. Have heard the alphas are way fflexy and have a short shelf life, cracking at the eyelets ect. The iron cross or alpha 400 built by someone in the know should be better though??? Been tubeless for years on my mtb and would never go ghetto on asphalt. Tubulars are also out cuz I'm still not sure what those people do in case of a flat. Call mom I guess... Stan's might be the way to go.