mtbr member
    Aug 2012

Painting inside the Salsa emblem...

I want to color in the Hot Pepper emblem on the front of my Mukluk... Any ideas on the easiest way to do this? What would be the best paint to use?

Pepper-- Red
    Top part-- Green

Birthday Collector
    One technique would be to use some nail polish - you get a small vial, with a small brush that is easy to get "detail" with, and a bazillion color options... When we get a hard-to-match bike in that someone wants touch-up work done on, we usually can find some close matches at a CVS or Walgreens, etc....
    R.I.P. Corky 10/97-4/09
    Disclaimer: I sell and repair bikes for a living
    http://www.endlesscyclesonline.com

mtbr member
    I checked the emblem on my Salsa bike and it has a clear coat. To prep it, you may want to carefully rough up the top edge of the chile and leaf/stem with a dremmel or sand paper. You can also find primer, paint and little brushes in hobby shops that would last longer than nail polish. On the other hand, if you use nail polish over the existing clear coat, you could scrape it off if you don't like it.

mtbr member
    Jan 2007
    I used some sandpaper scuffed up the areas on my Fargo that I wanted to paint, and then painted it with some small brushes and model paint from a hobby shop. Turned out fine and held up to crappy weather well, even on the dropouts.

mtbr member
    Feb 2012
    Testors or tamiya paint with small brushes from a hobby shop. Make sure to stir the paint well, and use some thinner so the consistancy is...consistant.

mtbr member
    Nov 2011
    Well how about some pics of hand painted Salsa logos?

...big and slow