mtbr member
    Mar 2014

Horsethief & Spearfish Questions

Hello all,

I've been lurking on MTBR off and on for the past couple of years, but this is my first post. I'm in the market for a new bike and am seriously considering a Salsa Horsethief or Spearfish and have a few questions from those who know more than I do (which will be just about everyone).

I've been riding for many years on a fully rigid 1998 Giant Yukon, which I bought new. I have mostly used it as a general fitness bike with only occasional trail riding. Two summers ago I finally started trail riding more seriously and have been having a blast with it. I love my Yukon, but I really want something a bit more modern and easier on my aging 45 year old back.

I like that Salsa is a small company. Their bikes seem to be of decent quality for a decent price and, based on reviews and what I've read here in the forums, Salsa owners seem pretty happy with them.

I live in SE Michigan, about 45 minutes south of the nearest trails in the Pontiac / Auburn Hills areas north of Detroit. There are some hills, but this is far from an All Mountain area. For that reason I was thinking about the Spearfish. It seems like more of an all-around cross country bike that wouldn't mind a little more rugged use now and again.

But, I'm 6'2" tall and weigh a bit north of 250lbs. I'm wondering if I need a more sturdy bike than the Spearfish and maybe the Horsethief is the way to go. From what I've read the HT is a fun bike, a little heavier, but also a more plush ride for the larger gentleman. I've also read that the Spearfish has some frame cracking issues, which do concern me.

For my budget I'm looking at the 2013 Spearfish 2 vs. the 2013 Horsethief 2. I've found both of these at an online dealer right now. They're asking about $1,700 for the Horsethief and about $1,900 for the Spearfish and both retailed for about $3,000 last year.