mtbr member
    Jul 2008

Thoughts on Rocky Mountain Element 10

I am new to the whole mountain biking scene as of a few months ago and I dont really know one Brand from another. I have raced motocross most of my life and I am finding myself adapting pretty quickly. I went out and purchase a specialized hardrock and now realize this probably wasnt the bike that I wanted. Just to get an idea of what I was missing out on I went and rode a $2500 dollar bike and was amazed at the difference. I went the the LBS and they directed me to the Rocky Mountain Element 10. They were willing to cut me a deal on it and put it in my price range. I heard the whole sales pitch but is this bike the best bang for my buck? Is it everything he said it is?

ups and downs
    Well there's a big difference between the Element 10 and a $2500 bike, the Element 10 lists for about $1500. The 10 is not a bad entry level FS bike, but the Element 50 is about $2500 and is a platform that is worthy of upgrades, but doesn't need many upgrades out of the box. The 50 uses better frame tubes, fork and shock, and has better brakes and drivetrain.

If you think this is something that you'll get hooked on, the 50 is a bargain, as you couldn't upgrade the 10 to the 50 level for the $1000 price difference. It sounds like you're at the first serious purchase level where you have an idea of what you don't like in your current bike

mtbr member
    Jul 2008
    I hate low end Rocky Mountains. They have the worst components, which make them look bad, and for the price paid, are crap. Go for the 50, you wont regret it. See if you can pay the Bike Shop in parts.
    Last edited by Garlock; 08-26-2008 at 06:35 PM.

mtbr member
    Jul 2008
    I would love to have the best of the best but $2500 is just gonna be more than I want to spend right now. I can probably swing bout $1500. Are there other brands I should look at? At this poing I think anything is going to be better than the Hard Rock that I have now.