Lemmy Rules!

Retro Time: 1992 Blizzard restoration

Hey everyone, I acquired a 1992 Blizzard last year from a work colleague who needed to shed a few bikes. It needed some love but was mechanically and structurally sound. As the Blizzard was the bike I wanted but couldn't afford when I started riding in the early 90's, it was a no-brainer to restore it to its former glory. I rode it before taking the parts off and getting the frame re-painted, and although the canti brakes and thumb shifters were an adjustment, I can honestly say that it does not ride like a 20 year old bike.

The photographs of the bike with the all-white frame show the bike in the condition it was when it came home with me. Since then, I have cleaned and polished all the components to within an inch of their lives (fortunately, nothing needs replacing - the bike was apparently never ridden on dirt and was mostly used for commuting - tragic!) and have got the frame repainted. The new decals came from Gil_M, whom I found on retrobike.com and who has a thriving business making vintage decals. He had the decals shipped to me from England, where he lives, within a week of me making contact. Gil rocks.

A word on the paint job. The bike was re-painted at Velocolour in Toronto by a certain Noah Rosen, who is an artist. Period. And yes, I know that the maple leaf black-to-white fade didn't come until later models of the Blizzard, but I always liked the way it looked so much that I had to do it! And Noah took it to another level - he used actual maple leaves for the stencil. The photographs do not do the paint job complete credit - it has to be seen in person to be believed.

So anyway, what was a fun winter project took on a bit of a life of its own and went way, way, way over budget. I hope everyone enjoys the photographs. I will post more once the bike is built up.