mtbr member
    May 2006

Element 950 - RS Monarch Shock

In the past two weeks, I have noticed my Rock Shox Monarch shock has been "losing" 30-50 PSI over a period of 1-2 days. I will set it at 210 PSI and it will usually be around 160 PSI the next time I check it. I check PSI in my shock and fork before most rides. I will not go two rides without checking it.

Does anyone have any thoughts on this?

ups and downs
    Sounds like leaky seals or a leaky valve. You'd expect a 10psi drop when you connect and fill up the pump, but not an extra 20-40psi.
    I'm a member of NSMBA and IMBA Canada

mtbr member
    May 2006
    I'm not a mechanic...what's the best way to go about this? Is this something RS will cover under warranty? I bought the bike in June.

ups and downs
    It should be covered by Rock Shox warranty.

mtbr member
    May 2006
    I have a few shock pumps, so I tried another pump. It wasn't showing a significant PSI drop. Funny thing is...that is my older pump. The pump that is giving me a big PSI drop is the new RS pump that came with the bike.

Sounds like my shock is just fine??

Thoughts, anyone?

ups and downs
    If there is a long hose or a deep fitting on the shock pump, then a sizable amount of air charges that volume up once the shock valve is open when you screw the pump on. Because the shock has a very small air chamber that can result in a big pressure change if you're adding 20% of the shock air volume with the pump. If the old pump has a smaller hose and fitting, the pressure drop will less.

mtbr member
    May 2006
    Wow!...are you a magician? That is exactly correct...longer hose and deeper fitting. I didn't think about the fitting causing that. OK...everything should be cool then. Learn something new every day...

ups and downs
    Hogwarts graduate...

mtbr member
    May 2009