Proud lame eBiker

Altitude 790 front shifting

Anyone else having issues with the front shifting? 2x10 set up, stock.

Two of my customers are complaining about dropping the chain and it getting sucked into the chainstay area. It seems top be happening when shifting from the small ring up to the big ring. The chain starts to engage the ramps and starts climbing momentarily, but then snaps off and jumps to the small ring, often overshooting it and jamming up down below.

I'm wondering if the clutch type 2 derailleurs have anything to do with this. Seems like it might.

If I adjust cable tension and der. stop on the big ring too far out it overshoots and drops tot eh outside. Adjust to where it should be perfect and it seems this scenario happens.

(as a side note....I've been working on MTB's professionally for the past 20 years, so I know how to set up a der. properly. This just has me a bit stumped.)
    www.velocitybicycles.comWhere customers become friends, not simply a dollar sign.

mtbr member
    Feb 2011
    I'm still having issues with mine I got a hold of RM they said switch the shifter to 3x then adjust. Seemed to help but its still not crisp.Help Please!!!

mtbr member
    Jun 2011
    I have a 750 altitude that I had converted to full XT (minus the front derailleur, so stock X7 is still in place) and have been dealing with front shifting issues as well. I have not had the chain derail towards the inside of the chainrings, but had to play with the 2x and 3x switch on the shifter as well as the adjustment to find the sweet spot between not shifting at all or kicking the chain off the outside of the big ring. I have had some success with getting the bike to shift ok, but there are some quirky aspects to this setup:
    1) my RH crank arm was loose on the splines from new so until that was resolved, consistent adjustment was impossible.