Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    May 2010

carbon ritchey fork on an MB-1?

Hey guys, I have an old bridgestone mb-1 that my uncle gave to me when i was a kid. It saw most of its years sitting a garage, but now I'm interested in getting into mountain biking this summer, and realized the fork needs to be replaced.

How's this for a replacement fork?

http://www.amazon.com/2010-RITCHEY-C...2847595&sr=8-1

I understand that upgrading to a suspension fork may mess with the intended geometry of this old bike's frame, and I'm a complete beginner so i'm not sure how well that fork would do with the mb1. Thanks!

illuminaughty
    well......thats a Road fork and the MB1 is a Mountain bike...not a good mix...wrong link maybe? You need to go to your local bike shop for some guidance...or do some research and reading here before you muck up a good bike.

mtbr member
    May 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by da'HOOV
    well......thats a Road fork and the MB1 is a Mountain bike...not a good mix...wrong link maybe? You need to go to your local bike shop for some guidance...or do some research and reading here before you muck up a good bike.
    oh whoops. this one. it's a cyclocross fork, so i was wondering how it'd fare on a mtb.

http://www.amazon.com/Ritchey-Cycloc...2851106&sr=1-7

i actually checked at a bike shop near my area, and the guy there suggested i put a dart 2 on my mb-1. i never went back

illuminaughty
    Same difference, it's still a 700cc fork on a 26" wheel MTB....do some research my friend. A Dart would be wrong but better than what your looking at. Like I said, don't muck up a good bike. If you want suspension buy a newer bike, leave the MB1 alone. How about a picture?

mtbr member
    May 2010
    yeah i def. dont want to muck it up. i didn't realize until recently that i had a very respectable and respected bike. i'll take pics and post them later tonight.

John Galt
    There is a 26" version of that fork, but I see two likely problems: