Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Aug 2004

Think About Your Grips : Chest Injury

I've been riding MTB since 1985 and Road since 1975, and never really thought about chest injuries. I've done a little DH, and always wear proper gear including a chest protector, but I never really thought about ramming my chest into anything on a trail ride.

I was trail riding Sunday (three days ago) at Matthews/Winters near Denver. I was climbing a fairly steep shelf trail that was shaded, so there was mud and ice on the trail. I had walked a muddy section a few feet earlier. I spun out on some ice, and when I went to clip out, I couldn't because of the mud on my cleats. I fell over, unfortunately to the downhill side of the trail.

The front wheel turned, and I fell directly onto the end of the handlebars with all my weight. I basically pole vaulted using my chest down about 15 feet into a ravine. The bars caught me just to the right of my sternum, right at the lower rib. I've felt a lot of pain, including a collarbone smash that required two surgeries, but nothing compares to this pain.

I was completely wiped. I started moaning and screaming involuntarily. I started trying to crawl up to the trail, but I just doubled over, moaning. My 13 year old son came up, and was understandably scared, but actually pretty calm, way to go.

Three hikers stopped to help (luckily it was a busy day on the trail). One of them turned out to be a doctor! He helped me back onto the trail, and pulled up my jersey to look at my chest.