Thread: Road rash!!

mtbr member

Road rash!!

Any ideas to help alleviate the pain and help speed up the healing process?
    Attached Images Attached Images

Double-metric mtb man
    I'm no doctor, but from a first aid perspective there are a couple of ideas I could pass on...

For helping the healing: get the wound good and clean to start with. It'll hurt, but it is important to do...last thing you want is a rip-roaring infection. Bandage things for the first couple days (preferably with non-stick dressing) and after that, let the air at it.

As for pain...the Bandaid folks had a lidocane wound wash that may help topically. Tylenol or Ibuprofen may also help.
    As if four times wasn't enough-> Psycho Mike's 2013 Ride to Conquer Cancer Page

Moran? Let your opinion be free -> F88me

mtbr member
    Ouch!!! First of all, big abrasions are essentially like burns in that large amounts of fluid and electrolytes will be lost thru the skin. Drink more Hammer/Cytomax-type sports beverages during your recovery and watch for signs of infection. Resurrecting an old post of mine on this topic. Since I wrote it I've acquired firsthand experience, after a sliding crash of my own, with the dressing described below. It really works! Good luck and here's that old post:

I feel your pain. My bf had a rather horrific crash off a sandstone ledge over the summer. Lost patch of skin ~2" x 6"+ on his shin. Being the manly man, he adamantly refused to go to the E.R., even tho I work at a hospital. So we looked up the latest on road rash (this was essentially road rash) & followed instructions:
    http://www.freewheel.com/mvw/cure.htm

Hydrogen Peroxide, triple antibiotic ointments, alcohol, iodine, etc. are no longer recommended as these substances kill healthy tissue & delay healing. Letting a hard scab form isn't recommended either because, believe it or not, this also delays healing. A scabby wound is more likely to become infected.