banned
    Jan 2012

Recovery after severe OTB crash?

So, Ive hit someone at 35km/h, OTB'd, Injured my right leg, foot, head/neck and arm, Only pain ive got now is my feet, and my neck is still quite stiff and hurts when turning, Is it safe to get back on the bike or do I have to wait till im completely back to normal?

Thread Killer
    I'm not a doctor, but I say get back on the bike and ride. Your body will tell you if you need to wait longer and heal up some more.
    Cholla cactus=nature's guard rail.

2006 Yeti AS-X
    Did you go to the doc after the crash? If not, since you state your neck is stiff and hurts to turn, may be a good idea to go get examined just to make sure things are fine even if it is just for peace of mind. The last thing you want to do is go out and make whatever you have worse.
    I don't use Strava. Don't need an application to tell me I am slow because I already know.

Always Learning
    Quote Originally Posted by Wasmachineman NL View Post
    So, Ive hit someone at 35km/h, OTB'd, Injured my right leg, foot, head/neck and arm, Only pain ive got now is my feet, and my neck is still quite stiff and hurts when turning, Is it safe to get back on the bike or do I have to wait till im completely back to normal?
    Good chance your neck injury is what one calls 'whiplash' and is similar to falling off a horse, an American Football injury, falling off a bike (obviously), and of course - car wreck. It takes time for such an injury to heal (and patience).

I did the same OTB (although not as a result of hitting somebody) 9 weeks ago during a race at full speed.

My result of going OTB: Separated right shoulder, cracked ribs, hit my head - and tore the muscles in my neck.