mtbr member
    May 2012

Over use injury or setup issue?

Im new to the sport. Been riding since June. 2-3 times a week in pretty difficult terrain.

My question is: how do you know if aches and pains are caused by over-use? What's the difference in a pain caused by setup?

Being new I feel like I'm constantly chasing down the latest cause of pain. Three weeks ago I went on a very long ride and ended up injuring my IT bands.

I've done lots of reading on positioning and use the online caluculators. I'm within the ranges they recommend. So I guess it's all just small tweaks until I get it right. But will it always been like that? Tweaking position slightly depending on what hurts at the moment?

Perpetual n00b
    You're only 2-3 months in to the sport, and going at it pretty hard if your terrain is as difficult as you say (where may I ask?).

I started riding last August and I've been tweaking bike setup since day one. At first it was wrist/forearm pain, which I attributed to too much weight on the handlebars, which were flat or riser with minimal sweep. I then switched to an alt-bar, the Mary flavor, and that alleviated wrist pain for a quite awhile. Over time I became more confident and the alt-bars seemed to hold me back. I could not corner properly with them and I crashed a bit. I went back to riser bars, wide but not super epic downhill wide. I no longer have the wrist or forearm pain, and over time my cockpit setup gets lower for better cornering and climbing.

Now the pain moves to the other end. The legs! It is often said that it never gets easier, you just get faster. It's the truth. A year ago I could barely manage 5mph average and I would need a break every mile or so. Now I can do about 9mph and take a break every 3 miles. My legs are still just as sore as they've ever been.