mtbr member
    Jan 2007

A Lost Spleen and Lessons Learned

Sometimes a wreck doesn't have to be that hard to end up badly...I hope you'll read this story: not because it's interesting but because my experience seems a bit unusual and the little lessons I learned may be useful for you someday.

Friday, Day 1. I botched a little jump off a ramp. I landed front-tire first (yeah, yeah - I'm not so good at the jumps. I know this... the rebound on the shock was set too fast and I didn't lean back far enough - the back end kicked up on me; I'm new to full-sus.) and my chest hit the handlebars when my hands went off the sides... then, obviously, I wiped out. Not a particularly thrilling story (though I should mention I was going 25mph, give or take 5), and I've walked away with relatively minor injuries from wrecks similar to this before - at least, relatively speaking to what came next. When I got home and became a little more lucid I realized it would be prudent to have some xrays done so I went to the ER. My left shoulder starting hurting very, very badly. That isn't unusual (esp. since I dislocated my right shoulder after a wipe out on this same jump a year earlier!) but what was unusual is that the pain did not seem to be associated in any way with what I did with my arm. I could poke my shoulder, swing my arm around, pick things up - nothing I did with my arm seemed to affect the pain! The ER Doc didn't think anything of it (this was a big mistake) and sent me home with some Darvocet. That night I discovered I couldn't lie down without unbelievable pain - in my shoulder! I slept sitting up... a difficult feat!

The next day, however, I was feeling fine and flying high... mmmm... Darvocet.... by Sunday evening though, my shoulder was starting to ache again. Otherwise I was dandy. By Monday evening, I was on twice as much Darvocet as Sat. and Sun. and my shoulder was killing me...