Thread: Knee injury

mtbr member
    Oct 2012

Knee injury

Greetings to all fellow cyclists,

I just signed up, i need advice for an injury i seem to have caused to my left knee.

First of all i have to say i'm fairly new to cycling, i started up a year and a half ago, cycling gradually from 20km up to 120km.

I took up cycling as a way to lose some weight and soon came to love it.

I'm 1.76, 70kg by the way.

A month ago i started training for a second long distance trip, i planned and completed an 80km distance on Wednesday and then had the rest of the days up until Monday for rest (excluding a 15km easy ride on Saturday).

On Monday, after about 10km i started to have a minor pain on the exterior right side of the patela which gradually got worse over the trip. I didn't had any problem completing it but i have to say it did make me feel uncomfortable for most of the trip.

After this trip i took some time to let my knee recover a bit. I made myself take a miserable week and a half away from the saddle. After this time, on the first trip after 2 full weeks from the trip, i got on the bike but i had a weird feeling on my knee, like it wasn't sliding ok, like it had some more friction than normal. Anyway, after warming up for 5kms i had just a minor pain like the one on the trip but it gradually got worse up until 30kms later when it was very distinct and really painful. Needless to say, i took some more time off for recovery.

Last Wednesday i got on the saddle again and rode 32km... I warmed up pretty good but once again after the first 10km up to the first twenties the pain gradually got worse by a fair amount. By the time i got back home 10kms later, the pain was pretty severe. Not at the point i couldn't keep pedaling but it did become irritating.