mtbr member
    Aug 2005

isolated systolic hypertension.

So, I am 32, fit, eat fairly healthy and have a case of "isolated systolic hypertension." which means my BP usually looks like 140/80 I have had this ever since high school but now the Doc's are talking medication. Any ideas?

mtbr member
    Is it getting worse? Do you have frequent headaches that you didn't have before. Red ears?
    This space for rent

mtbr member
    Aug 2005
    No symptoms that I know of. I've always had those BP readings. I'm a corporate pilot so I have to get a medical every 6mths. Of course I don't know how good I could feel if I had it around 120 or so.

mtbr member
    Have they told you about what type of medicine you could be taking?
    This space for rent

mtbr member
    Aug 2005
    Not yet.

mtbr member
    Nov 2005

white coat

For what it is worth -- I'm 28 and went through this crap a few years ago. It turns out I think I have white coat. My readings were much like yours -- I got the monitor, the 24 cuff, did the kidney echo (renal echogram or whatever) -- the whole nine and spent a fortune getting checked out -- they put me on something for a little while -- but I wanted to know what was causing it.
    Well, after much testing, etc. -- my girlfriend got a medical grade psnee..blah blah blah to measure my blood pressure and a stethescope and it's pretty much 120/65 everytime she takes it.

You may want to try that route -- it's a weird phenomenon -- I don't feel anxious around docs but apparently it is not that uncommon.
    Try it -- it was only a few hundred for the meter and scope --
    HOpe everything works out. I skydive so I need to make sure you pilots are healthy..haha.

mtbr member
    Aug 2005
    Good info.