mtbr member

Injury Set Backs...Alternatives to stay fit

As I have posted on a couple of other threads, I have been nursing some serious feet issues for the past eight months inclusive of Plantar Fasciitis and Achilles tendonitis. Well, following extensive various treatments ongoing during this time, it has been suggested that getting off the bike will help it. A couple of weeks initially. Ouch...It's killing me mentally not to ride more than putting up with the physical part of riding. It isn't uncomfortable on the saddle, but the pedal stroke is hindering the achilles from healing.

The above said, I know the smart thing is to get rest and get healed. But I am in as good of shape as I have been in three years and am having a hard time with the mental aspect of it. This also has to do with limping around like a gimp for the past three months.

I didn't post to wallow in my sorrows. Although it may seem so...Has anyone had any similar experience that they found some alternative to stay fit. I have another 24 hour race that me and my mates are doing in a few weeks that I can be ready for. But if this needs more than another week or two I am going to be distraught. Maybe I need to see a shrink...

Neil

KRISDALA BAKA!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Take it easy man. Look to next season. Use all of this time to recoup and do it right. You'll be headed down the road of permenant disability if you aren't careful.

Go swimming.

Then go see your shrink.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004

I second swimming