Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Injury, Recover... Back in the saddle?

2K views 5 replies 5 participants last post by  txn 
#1 · (Edited)
I started riding about 6 months ago and recently forked over the money for a high end bike. A new Hammerhead 100 - it rocks! Since the riding began I've had 2 concussion and some cracked ribs. I'm okay at the technical stuff but speed seems to be an issue. oops.

Anyways, I was on my first ride after my 2nd concussion and we were headed back to the car when my wheel washed out. I went down and heard a snap. When I looked down my arm was in a different place. We called EMS and got transported to the hospital. To make a long story short I shattered my elbow into 4 pieces. They did surgery and I now have 3 titanium plates and 15 screws holding it all together and I was in the hospital for 10 days. I'm now in physical therapy all the time trying to get some motion back in it but the going is slow.

My big debate now is if I get back on the bike or not. It's a blast and I absolutley loved riding however I'm tired of being injured and I don't ever want to go through anything like this again. Elbows seem to get injured and scraped up quite a bit.

Any suggestions or opinions?

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·

Wow.
Sorry to hear about your injuries man. those pictures look narly.

The best advise I can give is ....

Never stop riding.
Just give up on full speed downhills, stunts and other tech stuff that causes injuries.
just ride thru the woods ,at your own pace, and enjoy being out in the wilderness.
Thats what XC riding is all about anyway, in my opinion.

Get your adrenaline rushes some other way.

get back out there soon. enjoy

Later
Jim

#4 ·