mtbr member
    Jun 2012

injuries and working

Started biking around 4-5 months ago now and love it to death. But it doesn't take long to figure out that wrecks sometimes just happen. So being 30 and the only income for my family i'm curious what do people do if u actually break a bone? Their is no light duty where i work, so is one able to draw unemployment if something like this happens? Or do u just have to call the bill collectors and tell them i won't have any money for 6-8 weeks

Warrior's Society
    I work in construction, so when I broke my leg 2 years ago, I missed 16 weeks of work. My wife works, but I make way more. Being self employed, I lost 16 weeks worth of pay. Fortunately, I was working part time on a bike shop, so I filed for disability. In 16 weeks of disability, I recieved less than 1 normal week of working my construction job.

Last year when I broke my shoulder......I missed a total of a week and a half.....mostly the time after surgery until I had the staple removed. Was still able to to do my normal everyday job.

With my leg we were able to pay the bills with my wife's income, except for the mortgage....nearly did lose the house. Got a loan modification that helped with the unpaid mortgage.
    I crashed hard enough on my Tallboy to break my leg,
    The carbon is way more durable than most people.

mtbr member
    Apr 2010
    I purchased short and long term disability insurance. I also ride as though I'm the sole provider for my wife and two kids....since I am!

official eMpTyBRain
    I'm also self employed. After a serious crash last Fall, I missed about 1.5-2 weeks worth of work. After that, I hired a friend to do the grunt part of my physically demanding work. A few weeks later, I slowly worked my way back into the groove of things on my own. Thank God for good friends!
    ...and proud member of the anti-sock puppet desolation

mtbr member
    May 2012