Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Impalement

4K views 5 replies 5 participants last post by  TupacAmaru 
#1 ·
...Afew days ago, I was riding the trails and I hit a root causing the handle bars to spear me right in the stomach (3-4 inchs above the belly button actually). WOW - lots of pain and blew the air right out of me! Now i have a little bruising and a small knot in the area. Question:
1)should I get checked out (its just sore but doesnt really bother me [at least not yet]) and how do u know if ur bleeding internaly or you've been internaly:eek: lacerated?????.
2) Exacly which kind of grips could I use to reduce an impact like this again (im riding a FSR Stumpy with factory grips, using cages instead of clips, im a noob)????
3) what are "ODI lock-ons"???

#2 ·
I say get checked out just in case you did something to you pancreas or spleen.. I have some ODI Oury lock on grips and I love them. I bought them primarily because my stock grips kept coming off and it pissed me off. Since getting those they dont turn or come off and i would recommend them to anyone! Oh yea they have a little more rubber to them so its a bit more comfy.

#3 ·
1. If you're asking people if you should get checked out by a doc you probably should. In my opinion as a medic, not a doctor mind you, small amount of bruising wouldn't suggest any serious internal bleeding. A large amount of bruising, swelling, and redness would. A lacerated spleen could cause a critical injury, but you would most likely know it right away.

The only way to know for sure if you have internal bleeding would be to visit the doc and get some pictures taken.

#4 ·
Are you still alive?

Then you are probably OK.

ODI Lock-Ons are grips with a metal ring that clamps the grip to the bar. The metal ring has a pretty sharp edge, and if you land on a handlebar with lock ons on the end, it causes a worse injury than a pure rubber grip. This is my opinion, and I had a lacerated liver to back it up.