Thread: Hip Resurfacing

mtbr member
    Dec 2004

Hip Resurfacing

I am putting this out there as sort of a public service announcement.
    on nov 15th i had my right hip resurfaced by Dr Edwin Su at the hospital for special surgery in nyc. it is the same operation that floyd landis had on sept 27th. I had been having pain for over 10 years and although i still ran marathons till 2002 and than switched to cycling and have been doing endurance events the last 4 years , i have had a lot of pain. riding wasnt so bad but walking was getting more and more dificult and just getting dressed and getting shoes on was extremely painful. I was operated on at 3pm on wed the 15th and i left the hospital on fri the 17th at noon. i was on 2 crutches for 11 days and than a cane for 5 more days. i started riding indoors on day 11 and i started indoor rowing on day 15. it is now day 27 and i just finished a road ride of 45 miles with 3000ft of climbing and 15% grades in 3 hrs.not super fast ,but i didnt expect to be outside riding again till after the winter, so im pretty happy. also walking and getting dressed never felt so good.
    i prepared for the surgery as if i was training for a race so i was in pretty good shape and since i got back on the bike relatively soon after the operation my conditioning is still pretty good.
    this is a relatively new operation in the us but it has been done in belgium and india for the last 12 years. there is a very helpful website called surfacehippy.com.
    i urge you , if you or someone you know is thinking of having a total hip replacement check out hip resurfacing first. if you have any question feel free to email me.

mtbr member

Congrats

Great to hear that you are doing so well.
    I have had a few patients come through with the resurfacing, by far you were probably in the best physical shape going into the surgery and it has definately paid off for you in your recovery.