Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Hip Joint Pain

4K views 9 replies 6 participants last post by  LyNx 
#1 ·
About six months ago I started having some pain in my right hip. It doesn't bother me while riding or walking but when I crouch down to go under a log or gate it hurts. If I'm sitting normally in a chair and move my right foot up towards my left knee, like you would to tie your shoe, that also hurts. For a while I thought it was the result of over-stretching. Has anyone experienced this type of pain?

I've been doing the same type of cross country riding for the past 15 years with the same style of SPD pedals, same length of cranks and correct seat height. I usually ride once or twice a week and ride a trainer a few times a week. I just turned 39 so maybe I'm just getting old and wearing out.

#3 ·
Hip

Give me more information as to where the hip pain is and what it feels like.
Any back pain? Groin pain? Pain down the leg? How are you with stairs?

It sound to me like it is an SI joint asymmetry. Bringing your R foot towards the Left knee is one of the testing positions that we use.
May also be a bit of a hip impingement.

If it is a pelvic issue, often it is cleared easily by seeing a Physical Therapist. In most states, and with many insurances you may be able to take advantage of their direct access and go right to the PT without wasting money on you Dr. looking at it and sending you off with a PT script.

Keep us up to date.

#4 ·
It feels like the pain is in the top right-outside part of the joint. It might just be strained muscles in that area causing it. I have no back pain, groin pain or leg pain. A regular sitting groin stretch doesn't bother me. Stairs are not a problem either. It doesn't hurt to rest my right foot on my left thigh, but the motion of moving my right foot towards my left knee does hurt. I can grab my right leg and pull it up so it moves in the same direction and it causes no pain.

Thanks for the info.

#5 ·