mtbr member
    Jun 2014

Groin/Hip Injury. Anyone experience similar?

I've been riding for roughly 4 months, so I'm new to the sport.

About a month ago I was riding some rather hilly trails and testing out a my newly configured seat height. I raised it about an inch higher than I usually run it.

The trail was going fine other than it was extremely humid and hot and the climbs were getting rather aggressive. By the end of it I was gassed. Other than fatigue from riding I felt fine.

Fast forward about 12 hours later, I awake in the night to a severe cramp/pain in my left groin/hip region, where the leg and abdomen meet. The pain was so intense it made me feel rather nausea. After about 20 minutes the pain subsided and I fall back asleep.

The next morning I awaken and my left side hurts and a little bit of my lower abdomen. It's nothing severe, but a nagging, movement limiting sensation. Pop some ibuprofen and rest and the next few days.

Well the pain nags at me and I finally go to the doc about a week later. Checks me for possible spleen injury and hernias and shakes his head "no" that it isn't the problem. Tells me to rest it and continue the ibuprofen regimen and apply heat. Do that for a week and slowly my back starts to hurt as well as occasional pain in my left testicle (always seems to be the left) and I have a hard time getting comfortable. At night my hip, back, calve, inner thigh muscles twitch (never painfully, actually felt somewhat good). I go back to the doctor (another one, my family physician), and she says that it's muscle overuse injury and recommends physical therapy and she checks for herniation and finds none.