mtbr member

Good brace for ankle sprain?

Can't run for a long time, it's bad. 10 days and still can't put weight on it. Any ideas for a brace that will allow me to disengage from clipless pedal without stress? I won't be rushing back heedlessly, but will be riding before completely healed.
    Last edited by gthcarolina; 01-16-2010 at 01:46 PM.
    germs, needles, milk, death, snakes, mushrooms, heights, crowds, elevators

mtbr member

I broke my ankle last year and used a brace for a while when I started riding again in the spring. I think unclipping is probably the worst thing for a bad ankle.... I picked up a Tensor ankle brace with lacing and 2 velcro straps, was only about $20. Gave good support and was comfortable to wear. I couldn't find a half decent picture to post, I guess these are only available in Canada. This pic is of a similar style.

It worked ok, I only wore it for about a month and found I didn't really need it. It does take up a lot of space, so you if your bike shoes are a tight fit, it won't work for you.
    Maybe try starting back on platforms?
    Don't keep going if it's not comfortable for you, messed up ankles take a long time to heal. Mine was a whole year before I didn't really notice it anymore.
    Last edited by langford; 01-17-2010 at 04:53 AM.

Moderator Moderator