Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Fractured C-2

3K views 18 replies 5 participants last post by  mrallen 
#1 ·
So I did my best impression of a lawn dart Tuesday evening on a group ride. Rung my bell a little, and my neck immediately "tightened up". I ended up walking out and driving myself home. Tried icing my neck when I got home but within about a 1/2 hour, I realized that my neck was feeling worse in-stead of better. Got a buddy to come pick me up and take me to the ER. After about 3 hours of waiting, They finally send me back for a CT scan of my head and neck. After the scan was finished, the tech suddenly got real serious and was like, "Don't move". He said "I'm just a tech and I'm not allowed to interpret images. But, if I was allowed to interpret images, I'd say that there's a 90% chance that your C-2 vertebrae is fractured in at least 1 place. After that it was hurry up and wait for a few more hours to get transferd to the local trauma center. Then is was 20 people working on me at once, cutting clothes off, 5 CT stans (with and without die), and MRI and 5 standard film X-rays. After initial trauma center eval, it was on to surgical ICU. Final decision was no surgery needed. Just got home from the hospital. Now stuck in a C-spine collar for the next 6 weeks minimum....Not too fun.

#12 ·
So I've been riding at least a couple days a week for quite a while. Riding wise, the neck is pretty much a non-issue. My biggest riding problem is still just getting out of my own head when things get chunky & steep down hill. Stuff that used to make me pucker a little, but let the bike roll over gets an immediate "nope" response.... Otherwise, still lots of popping & cracking. Numbness is probably a little better (comes & goes now). Driving is a pain because of the reduced mobility.

#4 ·