mtbr member
    Oct 2006

Extremely bad case of PF Syndrome

Howdy,

I've been struggling with Patellar Femoral Pain Syndrome for over a year now, and consequently off the bike for about a year! As you all could probably imagine, it sucks. It really sucks. I went from being an avid mountain biker and bicycle commuter to a depressed, car driving, ass-hole. I've been doing physical therapy for the past nine months, I've done accupuncture, rested and took anti-inflamitory drugs for over two months, had cortisone injections, had an MRI, had custom orthotics made, custom bicycle fitting, shims put under my cleats, rolled my IT band with a foam roller and I still can't ride my bike! The injury gradually got worse as I continued to ride last year and finally cut my cycling career short after a century ride just destroyed it. I haven't ridden my bike more than a few hundred feet in several months. I'm only nineteen and invested so much into cycling. It's just heartbreaking. Now even cross-country skiing's hurting it. I've seen several different doctors and the story's always the same. "I'll have you back on the bike within a month!" Bull****. Is anyone else outthere struggling with patellor femoral pain to this extent? Has anyone on this forum had a "lateral release" surgery? Somebody give me hope, please!

DistantFellow

Master of None
    Well patella femoral syndrom can be caused by lots of things. Do you know what the cause is in your case?

I don't have it near as bad as you but in my case it seems to be muscle imbalance. I have been strengthening my vastus medialis and this has been working. To strengthen this I have done some physical therapy but I was able to give this muscle a huge workout by just lowering my seat about 2". After every ride that muscle is sore with a good workout and my patella is hurting less and less.

Forgiven