mtbr member
    Sep 2007

Dislocated finger, ghastly but no pain

Hello all,
    I do a fair amount of mountain biking and commute 10k to work each and never had a 'serious' injury. But a few days ago I was out with my wife doing some recreational riding in one of our local city parks. I was riding down a small single track walking path and didn't see a small log obscured by some bushes. I did an endo and came down pretty hard on my right forearm and dislocated my left middle finger.

It was so surreal to see my finger in such a gross position. There was no pain but the finger was clearly dislocated. I'm a musician and was a bit freaked. After disentangling myself from my bike and getting back on my feet I knew what I had to do. I had to put the finger back! There was still no pain and I thought if I was going to do this it had to be right then rather than leave it until I got to see a doctor. So I gently grabbed the finger pulled it slightly away from the joint put it back in place: again, no pain.

My right arm was starting to swell up pretty good at this point and we had some riding to do to get back home. There was some pain in the right arm but it wasn't excruciating so I was pretty sure nothing had been broken. I was suffering some shock and we decided to sit for a while before heading back.

I iced the finger when I got home but decided not to go in to emergency because it still didn't hurt much (just when trying to straighten it fully) so pretty sure it isn't broken. The swelling has gone down a bit and I can move the finger further each day and still not a lot of pain. Certainly no throbbing or anything. I think I will go see my doctor and get an x-ray to make sure that it's OK and in the right place, but it seems like it's going to be OK.