mtbr member
    Aug 2006

Broken Collar Bone - Video and Treatment Recommendation

I broke my collar bone a week ago after I wrecked off a drop. I have the video below.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P3KBC7PP81k

I have been trying to decide whether to opt for surgery. The bone is about 1.5 cm overlapped which is borderline for surgery according to my doctor. Initially I wasn't going to do surgery, but I think I've changed my mind after reading some posts on here and a really good dicussion here http://www.cyclingforums.com/t133419...ry-or-not.html

My primary concerns are long term pain due to misalignment and pain from the bump when wearing a backpack/camelback. The one semi bad thing about surgery is that I would have to do it here in Turkey w/ a Turkish Doctor (although everyone at my base says he is good.)

Does anyone have any advice/recommendations?

mtbr member
    I am no doctor so the last thing I would give is advice on surgery, I just want to wish you a speedy recovery.

I am a motor sports photographer and at least 1 in 5 motorcycle racers have broken there collar bones (I meet hundreds every season) and seems to be something they not only get over but can keep competing at there level after its healed up.

Is it possible to get a second opinion from a doc without being seen? send your file, X-ray MRI's? If not it may be worth a trip, even it all goes well I would hate to be second guessing my decision.

good luck and get well soon

Ray

mtbr member
    Sep 2007

I had surgery and recommend it

I had surgery 7 weeks ago for a broken collar bone. It was overlapped by as much as yours. Orthopedic surgeon placed an Acumed clavicle titanium plate on with nine screws. I should be able to resume regular riding in another 5 weeks. Here's a link for more info.

http://www.acumed.net/product-detail...25#Indications

mtbr member
    May 2006
    Great video!

mtbr member
    Nov 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by MonmouthRider