mtbr member
    Apr 2007

Back Issues, got MRI...

Hi, I used to XC race for a few years then stopped due to a leg fracture. I recovered well and rode intially (that was about 4 years ago_ I haven ridden much the past 2 years due to work and study but recently I started riding again (full susp.) gently. The other day I woke up and could barely walk I had intense deep pain in my right leg (I have fractures on my left leg) so it was odd. It was a deep pain like inside the bone. Anyway I managed for a few days then went to the doc and he refered me to get an MRi.

Mri says:

There is evidence of a right intraforaminal disc protrusion at L4-L5 level which appears to contact the right L4 root and is causing right neural foramen stenosis.

Everything else was normal no degeneration issues anywhere. No central canal stenosis anywhere, no disc bulges or disc protrusions.

Im going to the doc tomorrow but want to know what my hopes are. Will I be able to ride again XC racing, anyone here had similar issues?

I just got a new 07 top fuel that rode just 2-3 times before this happened (((

Thanks

Sorry for bad english its my second language.

donkey
    If nothing else, atleast you have nearly flawless english going for you. Am I to understand that the pain in your right leg may be the result of damage to your spinal cord?

it tied the room together
    Quote Originally Posted by nbrennan
    If nothing else, atleast you have nearly flawless english going for you. Am I to understand that the pain in your right leg may be the result of damage to your spinal cord?
    The spinal cord ends well above L4-L5. It is impacting the nerve root and causing the pain in the leg. I have similar back issues and know of many other people who through stretching, physical therapy etc. have resolved all issues. I don't race (never did) but I still ride.