Thread: arthritic neck

mtbr member
    Jan 2004

arthritic neck

any one ever been diagnosed with this?I have been battling a bad neck for 2 yrs.Had a mri and dr says degenarative athritis.I am about to give up riding.After riding for 18 years it is a hard pill to swallow.Tried chrio accupuncture various meds all kinds of bike fit combos Any help please

gls
    mtbr member
    Jun 2006

Neck Strengthening excercises worked for me.

This is a pretty common condition- I have it too. A rheumatologist gave me a set of neck excercises that really helped. Basically you press on your forehead with your hands while pushing back with your neck muscles. Repeat on the back of your head and on each side. I would do like 10 reps each a couple times a day. Don't push so hard that it hurts. The idea is to build up your neck muscles so that they hold the vertebrae more rigidly. Certain types of stretches may also help. You might want to talk to a physical therapist or another doctor about it. (Rheumatologists are way better at this kind of stuff than most GPs)

You could try glucosamine if you haven't already. There are a number of good clinical studies that show efficacy. Also, I would strongly recommend between 2 and 4 grams of fish oil per day for anyone with inflamation issues of any kind. The scientific data on this is very solid, and my own experience with it has been very good. (Fish oil pills are better than actual fish because the heavy metals and other toxins in fish have been distilled out of the oil. It's also way cheaper. Flaxseed is sometimes touted as a good source of omega-3 fatty acids just like fish but it is not, because the body is not efficient at converting it to the form needed.)

If you are in bad enough shape, I know a mountain biker who has had some vertebral fusions done. Sounds like it worked well for him- he still has pretty good range of motion and he still rides. Good luck with it.

Bodhisattva