Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    the half breed devil

red bull vs 5 hour energy

didn't check to see if this has been debated before, don't care. this is here and now.

don't want to hear from the anti-energy drink crowd, keep it to yourself. i'm a fifty year old rider who is set in his ways...

i wanna hear from riders who've tried both and what their thoughts are. i usually carry a red bull in my camelbak on MTB rides over twenty miles but when i ride the 'cross i don't carry a pack and five hour energy seems like a reasonable alternative. fits nicely in a jersey pocket.

thanks in advance...

mtbr member
    I think they are about the same to me. Sometimes they give more of a "buzz" then other times. I really like redbull..I like the taste. I honestly think a regular cup of coffee is the best pre-ride drink for me in terms of overall energy.
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2012 Specialized Stumpy EVO 29 HT

Is not amused
    Out of those two Red bull sugar free so you don't have as bad as crash afterwords. One other thing I've tried was taking Controlled Labs: White Flood. White Flood Review It's a pre-workout nitric oxide and energy enhancer. The good thing about that product it has no creatine or bcca's as well. I take it during my ride if I feel like crap and need more energy or prior to starting my ride. Kicks in between 15-30mins afterwards and depending on how it reacts with you will have energy for hours. It also doesn't dehydrate you as bad other energy drinks either and cost less in the long run. Just my 2 cents.
    Last edited by Hutch3637; 03-22-2012 at 06:49 PM.
    Yip yip yip nope nope nope

mtbr member
    Apr 2009
    Its the caffeine. Have a cup of coffee and save a few bucks

ouch....
    I go for the 13 hour extreme energy. Kicks ass!
    Riding.....

The Unaffiliated
    Oct 2009