650b me

Time to change bearings...how do you know?

I've been riding my Mach 4 half-time for 4 years now. All original bearings. Is it possible that I don't yet need to replace them? The vast majority of my rides are dry - I avoid riding in muddy conditions. What's the best way to check the bearings? Disassemble the rear triangle and turn them by hand, feeling for crunchiness? I just replaced the original DU bushing in my Fox shock earlier this summer, and believe it or not, it didn't look all that worn to me. I'd say I've put about 300 singletrack miles on it per year, for a total of around 1,200 miles.

mtbr member
    Mar 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by golden boy View Post
    I've been riding my Mach 4 half-time for 4 years now. All original bearings. Is it possible that I don't yet need to replace them? The vast majority of my rides are dry - I avoid riding in muddy conditions. What's the best way to check the bearings? Disassemble the rear triangle and turn them by hand, feeling for crunchiness? I just replaced the original DU bushing in my Fox shock earlier this summer, and believe it or not, it didn't look all that worn to me. I'd say I've put about 300 singletrack miles on it per year, for a total of around 1,200 miles.
    I put over 9,000 miles on my mach 429 before i had those replaced. I should have done it sooner as i noticed the rear was acting different over the last 6 months (2k miles).

650b me
    Ha! Maybe I have a ways to go then, eh?

650b me
    Quote Originally Posted by seandm View Post
    I put over 9,000 miles on my mach 429 before i had those replaced. I should have done it sooner as i noticed the rear was acting different over the last 6 months (2k miles).
    What, have you done the Tour Divide the last few years or something?

Impressive!

mtbr member
    Mar 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by golden boy View Post
    What, have you done the Tour Divide the last few years or something?

Impressive!