mtbr member
    Oct 2013

Pivot mach 6 small vs medium owners/buyers

Hey guys, need some advice on the choosing the right sized mach 6. Its my first mtb purchase so I have no experience with mtb sizing.

I'm abt 5'8.5", based on the website recommendation I would be a Small.

I've tried the medium mach 6 with 60mm stem and felt it was fine but since the local dealer doesn't have a small to demo, i'm not sure if the small would be the better fit as recommended.

I'm aware a smaller frame would probably be more 'playful' compared to the stability of a larger frame, hence would like to be on the small, provided I don't have to slap on too long a stem.

Any advice would be appreciated as spending thousands of dollars only to get the wrong sizing would be disastrous.

Thanks.

mtbr member
    Dec 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by spying View Post
    Hey guys, need some advice on the choosing the right sized mach 6. Its my first mtb purchase so I have no experience with mtb sizing.

I'm abt 5'8.5", based on the website recommendation I would be a Small.

I've tried the medium mach 6 with 60mm stem and felt it was fine but since the local dealer doesn't have a small to demo, i'm not sure if the small would be the better fit as recommended.

I'm aware a smaller frame would probably be more 'playful' compared to the stability of a larger frame, hence would like to be on the small, provided I don't have to slap on too long a stem.

Any advice would be appreciated as spending thousands of dollars only to get the wrong sizing would be disastrous.

Thanks.
    Ultimately, if you want to be sure, you need to take out both sizes and for a decent long ride in varied terrain, to be sure. But, clearly these frames are like rocking-horse sh1t right now, and the chances of shops keeping two sizes of test bikes are near zero.