mtbr member
    Mar 2011

Pivot LES 27.5 Review

Due to the lack of reviews, figured I'd chime in on the Pivot LES 27.5 as I had the opportunity to demo the SLX build twice now.

Going into the demo, I was already struggling with the 650b platform as I had been extremely disappointed with the Santa Cruz 5010c a few weeks earlier (know I'll catch flak but sorry just didn't like it). Thought I would give 650b another try as I prefer hardtails and heard Pivot bikes were great rides.

It took me a few minutes to adapt but instantly noticed how quick and agile the LES was. There is quite a bit of frame feedback but chalked that up to the stiffness of the carbon,which I have little experience with. A couple miles into the ride I grew more confident and started to push it. The bike responded and solidified my feeling this bike really wants to go.

So I let it go...and wow does the LES respond. I was carving the trail and catching air every chance possible just like my 26er. The frame is burly yet light and inspires confidence. This is much appreciated as I ride aggressively. I would consider the LES a solid trail bike but could foresee a light XC build.

Overall, Pivot knocked this one out of the park as the geometry is fantastic and makes for a fun ride! I managed to ride about 18 miles across both demos and enjoyed the bike immensely. At 5'10" and 140lbs geared up, the medium fit like a glove.

My only complaints would be the bars as they were way too wide, and the Fox fork left something to be desired. Regardless, I highly recommend the bike. I would prefer the X9 build, but the $4K+ price tag is tough to swallow.

Hope this review helps those searching for feedback like myself and would appreciate any reviews/pictures of builds if you own one. I plan to demo the bike for a few days in the near future and will provide an update at that time.

Pivotal figure