mtbr member
    Apr 2013

Pivot dw link bearings: do they need to be replaced more frequently then competitors?

Hey All,
    Im new to MTBR.

Im looking at purchasing a pivot mach 4 26 or 29, havent ridden one yet to decide, however a bike shop i went to, that used to distribute pivot, said that bearings in the DW Link regularly fail and lots of his customers would have to replace them. In comparison ive only changed my bearings in my 2007 stumpy twice, (but i havent been riding much in the last 2 years)
    Im about 90 kg (200 or so pounds), a bit of a clumsy rider, and likes to hit things pretty hard. Im 182 cm.

If you own/have owned a pivot can you provide a comment as to the accuracy of the bike shops comments? I know you should replace them every 12-18 months depending on use but he seemed to think they failed more frequently then others...

Ive also heard you cant get a bidden in the triangle of the new frames is this correct?
    Thanks for all your help.

Albro

mtbr member
    Nov 2011
    Rubbish comments and probably sour grapes from the bike shop for not selling them any more. I have a 4 year old Mach 5 and have yet to replace any of the bearings. I do pull them out every 6 months or so and pop the seals off to grease them so if you do a bit of maintenance there won't be an issue.

There were reports of a few dodgy bearings out there but thats just bad luck. Pivots are class bikes and well built. You just need to maintain them, after all they are ridden in dirt and mud.

All bike, all the time
    4 years of regular Firebird use, replaced bearings once (serviced twice). Not an issue I've heard of otherwise...
    All bike, all the time

change is good
    Sep 2004

Pivot dw link bearings: do they need to be replaced more frequently then compet

I ride in the winter and the bearings typically last at least a year which is definitely acceptable.

mtbr member