Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

photographer interested in a bike

5K views 22 replies 15 participants last post by  Duntov1967 
#1 ·
Im a landscape photographer in Cave Creek, Arizona. I hike alot of local trails and was thinking it would be really beneficial and fun. Im going to drop by some bike shops this weekend, but thought I would get some input here first. My dad has a little mountain bike in his garage, but he is 5' 8". Im 6' 1" and 170 and it seems little to me. What brands should I look at and would any bike suffice?

#4 ·
I'm a photo hobbyist getting more and more into it. I recently started getting into landscape and location photography after I had begun biking.
Any brand of bike from a good bike shop should work but if you plan on carrying any of your photo equipment attached to the bike keep in mind that bigger wheels smooth the ride. I use cargo racks and bags for carrying my camera's and lenses and I have noticed more bounce reduction for the equipment in my cargo racks and bags on my 29er hard tail than in a full suspension 26 inch bike I tried. I couldn't afford a FS 29er.

As a note I ride a Trek Marlin 29er with Topeak cargo rack and bags. I usually keep my camera (Canon Rebel XS for now) in the front bag for quick access and my others lens and flash equipment in padded cases in the cargo trunk on the back rack.

My 29er and accessories by Firehand10k, on Flickr

#8 ·