Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    b a n n e d

Need Photo processing software for Mac

I've got an entry-level SLR (Canon T2i) and really like taking pics. Unfortunately, I don't have good software on the Mac for post-processing work. I'm not yet to a level where I want/need Photoshop capability, but want something that will help me with basic work. I've gone through demos of Adobe Lightroom and Apple Aperture (I run a Macbook with OSx) and can't decide. What do y'all recommend?
    Alcohol may lead nowhere, but it sure is the scenic route!

http://fourpence.net
    Jun 2009
    I've used both and here's pro's and con's to either.. Lightroom is a good option if you think that progression to Photoshop is in the future as you will learn the navigation/menu's. I'm a graphic designer by trade and use other Adobe software, so Lightroom was a no brainer.

mtbr member
    One of the best photographers I know swears by lightroom. I've used lightroom once myself, and it seemed to have all the functionality I was looking for, but since I have the full photoshop suite, I didn't mess with it long.

mtbr member
    Mar 2013
    I didn't think that the Adobe products were available on the Mac; or did they finally release Mac compatible versions?

mtbr member
    Need Photo processing software for Mac-doc1.jpg

Yup, it's available for Mac. +1 for Lightroom.

Edit: Ran across this. https://discussions.apple.com/thread...art=0&tstart=0

b a n n e d
    Cool. Thanks everyone! Now to just brush up on the actual photog skills!!
    Alcohol may lead nowhere, but it sure is the scenic route!

Kathleen in AZ
    iPhoto on your Mac does a decent job and is super easy. I used iPhoto for years, but finally upgraded to Lightroom 4. The LR learning curve is super steep, but once I got it figured out... WOW! It's the best thing I've done for my photography since buying a DSLR.

saddlemeat
    Quote Originally Posted by 007 View Post