Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Micro 4/3 recommendation?

2K views 5 replies 5 participants last post by  Puzman 
#1 ·
I'm looking for a recommendation for a M 4/3 camera. I'm a fairly experienced amateur, and am looking to upgrade from my Lumix travel-zoom camera to something with better image quality and more manual control. My shooting is mostly outdoors- landscapes, wildlife, macro, travel, etc, with some portraits and random snapshots mixed in. Not a lot of fast action sports or low-light photography. I would like to be able to make decent enlargements to at least 11 X 14. Want to buy in the next month, and no one in my area (central CT) carries Panasonic. My criteria:

- should be fairly compact (I do a lot of biking, hiking, climbing, etc). A standard DSLR is too big for my taste, but I like the handling of the new Rebel SL1 with kit lens (but probably not anything bigger). Something like a Nikon 1 is just too tiny.

- some degree of external control (I don't want to have to go through a menu every time I want to change shutter speed or aperture)

- should either have built in EVF or option to add one as an accessory.

- under $500 with kit lens (with less being better).

Currently thinking about Olympus EPM2, EPL5, or EP3, or Panasonic GX1 or G5. The main drawback I see with Panasonic is that if you want IS, you're limited to their lenses.

Thoughts? Recommendations?

Thanks,

John

See less See more
#2 ·
Well of the 4 you mention only the epm2 and epl5 have the newer sensor That the em-5 and gh3 do.
The epm2 is nice and small but very menu driven so changing settings will be more involved than the epl-5
The evf for the epl5 is said to be much nicer.
I have an epm-1 and an em-5 with the new one getting all the use. The kit lens for both companies are ok but if you want to maximize the system really an upgrade lens is best - My main lens is the 4/3 12-60 which is rather large and not cheap.