Just Ride

Lens fitting question

Just getting back into photography after 10 years. So I don't remember all the terminology. I guess you could say I'm a born again noob with photography.

Anyway, I have a canon SLR with a couple lenses. 35-70mm and a 70-300mm, both auto focus lenses. I'm looking to purchase a DLSR next year and was wondering if my 70-300 lens would work on the DLSR camera body? Is it just a matter of making sure the mount on the new camera is the same as the lens mount on the old so the lens will fit? I forget what that part is called. Also since I bought the lens, it's a tameron btw, for a canon, it says for canon on the lens. Is it only useable on a canon? Or could I use it on a nikkon with the same mount?
    SS ==> Nut up or Shut up!

mtbr member
    Oct 2010
    Is your Canon SLR an autofocus SLR? If so, your old lens will work on a new Canon digital SLR body.

And, yes, your lens will only work on a Canon body.

My advice is to not worry about whether your old lens will work - frankly, a 10-year-old third-party lens, especially a 70-300, probably isn't particularly good anyway. Optics have come a long way in the last decade. Buy new lenses.

Just Ride
    Quote Originally Posted by BigTex91 View Post
    Is your Canon SLR an autofocus SLR? If so, your old lens will work on a new Canon digital SLR body.

And, yes, your lens will only work on a Canon body.

My advice is to not worry about whether your old lens will work - frankly, a 10-year-old third-party lens, especially a 70-300, probably isn't particularly good anyway. Optics have come a long way in the last decade. Buy new lenses.
    Yes it's an autofocus SLR. I didn't think of the optics. I'll only be able to buy the camera because of other expenses that I will incur at that time. I'll need my old lens at least for a few months. I'll look into new lenses as money permits.

mtbr member
    Which camera are you looking at buying?
    Dakota King
    Owner of
    BikerTents

Just Ride