Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Mar 2009

How do you get this photo effect?

I've come across a few photos with this effect recently. I really like it, have no idea how to do it. Is it just a photoshop filter or is there a multi-step trick to this?

How do you get this photo effect?-image.jpg

mtbr member
    There's a lot going on in that picture; can you be more specific on the effect you (think) you see?
    www.teamnavycycling.org
    10 Pivot Mach 429
    09 Felt Nine Race
    03 Litespeed Tuscany

mtbr member
    Looks HDR to me, possibly with some post processing using Topaz Adjust or something similar.

mtbr member
    Mar 2009
    Looks like a contrast adjustment and reduced amount of colors? I'm no photoshop expert by any means.

mtbr member
    Jul 2011
    There are also layering techniques whereby you lay the same image over itself for enhancement etc. Can really vivify colouring.

saddlemeat
    I like the look, simplified, contrasted, and saturated. I could get visually close in PS if I had the full size original and enhanced images to examine close up. Very similar to a look I like and which is a combination of PS adjustments and effects...
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails How do you get this photo effect?-lolly-pup-jwitt.jpg  

A Useful Bear is a handy thing.

mtbr member
    Mar 2009
    I messed around with the HDR adjustment and I'd say Tim was right. Cranking up the Detail in the HDR settings looks to be the start of getting this look with photos. Thanks for all of the replies! Gonna mess with it some more. I'll post up a result.

trail projectile

Lots of lighting control too. Small aperture. Increased definition and mid contrast. Prolly HDR but not necessarily.

trail projectile

Look at the light sources...

mtbr member
    Mar 2009
    Do you think they used a delayed flash on it?

mtbr member