Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member

Help deciding on a digital camera for the trails

So I have a GoPro for taking video while pedaling but I would like to start capturing some of the cool places my bike takes me and some of the action of riding partners. I'm new to photography but would like to learn and get better so I want a good camera. Probably one above my current abilities that I can grow into. So, that leads me to the decision on what camera? I have been considering both the ruggedized point-and-shoot cameras and just the normal high quality point-and-shoots.

Is the rugged camera really necessary or a good idea at the loss of image quality? The best rugged camera I think I have found is the:

Olympus Tough TG-1 iHS (12MP, f/2, OLED screen, 1/2.3" sensor)

The big selling points, besides the rugged dustproof/waterproof design, are the f/2 aperture and the OLED screen for better viewing in daylight.

Now the best "regular" piont-and-shoot I think I have found is the:

Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-RX100 (20MP, f/1.8, 1" sensor, ability for RAW)

Open to any other suggestions. I just want a good camera. Not sure if giving up image quality is worth the supposed ruggedness for a mtbing camera.

Thanks

mtbr member
    Aug 2009
    To be honest if you want great photos then dont go with a point and shoot.... go buy your self a DSLR.... if your really set on a P&S then look at the Canon S100 or even S95 both very great cameras with awesome image quality.... I ride with my Nikon D7000 17-55 f2.8g and 11-16 f2.8 lens all the time... Mind you when I have my camera in my bag I dont hit crazy jumps etc.... If you want more control (more then you can get form a P&S) but dont want to go as far as getting a DSLR then check out a Micro four thirds ( see Soney Nex 5N, Olympus Pen,) when it comes to mountain biking you dont have much time to focus on a subject so that is why I would steer clear of P&S and more towards a DSLR or Micro four thirds camera.

mtbr member